Ode to those who came before The One…

We all have ’em…
The for many regretted and dreaded exes.

Those who came before you found your true love…

I wasn’t a crazy dater, but I delighted sharing in the company of several young men before meeting the goofball who grew to become the wonderful man I call my husband…

There were the boys I thought I loved, before…but none ever quite measured up…to the feelings I thought I would have…

I may have felt Love omce before…but even still it paled in comparison…it didnt grow and change and shift year after year…it diminished and slowly disappeared…

Then there were the fleeting crushes, of which I had many… boys, young men, men who came into my life for short seasons. Seasons in which I learned about myself, my likes in a person, my dislikes, my must haves, my can not haves, my everything…

All of the odes of boys and loves past, only make me love and cherish the man I have so much more…

Many of the young men whom I frequented friendships with, crushed on, shortly dated, were and are perfectly fine men. Some surprised me by stepping up to more than I envisioned…for that I am glad. For I wish them well in whatever journeys they decided to take after we parted…

these boys..however… led me to The One….

An Ode to him… deserves its own place

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

